Competition Tribunal members, on recommendation by the Minister of Economic Development, are appointed by the President of South Africa.

The Competition Tribunal is headed by a Chairperson appointed by the President of the Republic of South Africa. The Chairperson is required to serve for a term of five years and may be re-appointed for a second term. However, the Chairperson may not serve for more than two consecutive terms. To assist the Competition Tribunal in carrying out its functions, the Chairperson may appoint permanent staff.

The Competition Act also requires that the South African president appoint a minimum of three and a maximum of 10 Competition Tribunal members (excluding the Chairperson) to serve for a term of five years. On completion of their term, the members may be re-appointed for further terms. These members may be full- or part-time depending on the recommendations of the Minister of Economic Development, and typically have experience in law or economics, or both. These members constitute the pool from which the Chairperson appoints adjudicative panels. In almost all cases, apart from a few procedural type cases, three Competition Tribunal members will hear a case and make a decision.

To view each Competition Tribunal member’s credentials, click the DOWNLOAD button.

Ms Mondo Mazwai
Prof Liberty Mncube
Mr Andreas Wessels
Ms Andiswa Ndoni
Prof Imraan Valodia
Dr Thando Vilakazi
Mr Geoff Budlender SC
Anisa Kessery