The Competition Appeal Court (CAC) is established in terms of section 36 of the Competition Act, No. 89 of 1998 (Act). The CAC is a special division of the High Court. It has jurisdiction throughout the Republic of South Africa and is a court of record.
The Competition Appeal Court
  • may consider any appeal from, or review of, a decision of the Competition Tribunal,
  • confirm, amend or set aside a decision or an order that is the subject of appeal or review by the Competition Tribunal,
  • give any judgment or make any order that the circumstances require, and
  • must also confirm an order by the Competition Tribunal for the divestiture of assets by parties who have contravened section 8 of the Act.
The President of South Africa appoints the members of the Appeal Court in accordance with section 174 of the Constitution and on the recommendation of the Judicial Services Commission.

The following Judges have been appointed to the Competition Appeal Court.
  • The Hon Madam Justice N Boqwana
  • The Hon Mr Justice E Matojane
  • The Hon Mr Justice B Vally
  • The Hon Mr David Unterhalter
  • The Hon Madam Justice M Victor
  • The Hon Mr Justice O Rogers
  • The Hon Madam Justice D Fisher
  • The Hon Madam Justice T Siwendu
  • The Hon Madam Justice F Kathree-Setiloane
Registrar of the Competition Appeal Court
Tel. No. +27 (0)12 394-3355